cwtch up hot chocolate 

Last week was a bit of a disastrous week for me in terms of getting things done, the hubby was working super late, the kittens were going mental, my phone screen shattered and I still didn’t have a start date for my new job. Basically I just needed a cwtch ( it’s a Welsh word for a cuddle) as the hubby was otherwise engaged in work, my cwtch would take the form of a Lindt hot chocolate from Costa Coffee.Lindt hot chocolate COsta Coffee

I was initially tempted by their PR material showing a luscious velvety smooth glass of thick hot chocolate, and as I needed a little pick me up and I love Lindt chocolate and Costa Coffee, why not give it a go.  The hot chocolate is made using a Lindt powder and when poured didn’t quite fit the image that’s been presented in the PR material. I’m presented with a frothy thin hot chocolate with semi dissolved powder bombs. I was grateful for its small size but didn’t complain and maybe I should have, but I was lacking confidence that day. I’m wondering if any other Costa customers have been disappointed by this product or if I was just unlucky and the product pictured in the official PR material is a true representation of the product itself?  Needless to say I didn’t get my cwtch from this little glass of hot chocolate and that kinda saddened me.

A week later and I am still wanting a chocolate cwtch, especially as its got even colder. I reach for the little bit of Valrhona chocolate I have left and set to making a delicious glass of chocolate heaven….and there it is…..my cwtch up hot chocolate, blissful. 

cwtch up hot chocolate 

Hot chocolate
Time: 3 mins 

Serves: 1 

Ingredients 

Valrhona chocolate approximately 40g (I just use a chunk from a kilo bar) or a chocolate of your choice with a high coco solid.

One cup of milk, of your choice (I used a whole milk)

1 tsp heaped cornflour (optional)

Method 

In a saucepan place the cornflour and 1/3 of the milk, combine and add the chocolate. Place the milk and chocolate over a medium heat stirring continuously until melted,then add the rest of the milk.

Turn the flame to low and heat until the hot chocolate has thickened, remove from the heat and serve.

Notes 

If you would like the chocolate to be really super thick, add 1/2 tsp extra of cornflour at the start.

For an extra cwtch, add a good glug of armagnac 

For a fancy cwtch, add marshmallows and whipped cream before serving 

Leave a Reply

